Before I Met You

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
$19.00 - $33.33
UPC:
9780099559535
Maximum Purchase:
3 units
Binding:
Paperback
Publication Date:
2013-04-13
Author:
Lisa Jewell
Language:
english

Warning:Codes/CDs/Accessories are not guaranteed for used books!

Product Overview

Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone.

After her grandmother Arlettes death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobsall the usual preoccupations of a woman her agein order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in 90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. Shes ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks . . .

In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life.

As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a mana stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlettes past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present?

A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.

Reviews

(No reviews yet) Write a Review